How To: Install GlowShift Gauges (Oil Pressure, Fuel Pressure, Trans Temperature)

Brian Baskin

Rikutsu-poi
DISCLAIMER - I am not a professional. As shade tree mechanics come, I don't even have a tree. Some of the steps and advice given here may NOT be the best possible solution and may result in harm, death, or sudden castration of the installer. Proceed at your own risk.

In undergoing the new engine build on my truck, and realizing that a large problem was the lack of oil in the engine, I knew that I needed a better handle on monitoring the situation. I needed additional gauges that were more than just idiot lights to help prevent another catastrophe. I started my search for a number of gauges, including: oil pressure, fuel pressure, and transmission temperature. Wow! I could not believe the cost these units were going for. In my eternal search for all things cheap, I did run across Glow Shift gauges. They seem to be quite popular in the ricer market, but that doesn't necessarily make them bad.

Looking through their products, they carry: Tinted 7-color, black 7-color, tinted, and white 7-color gauges. In a few hours of research, I ruled out the tinted units. Many had claimed that they were difficult to view in broad daylight. The white faced and black faced gauges were dramatically different. Being that there is a limited gauges available in white-faced, and that I light have a 6 o'clock null value, I went with the black 7-color gauges.

So, I made my purchase for an oil pressure gauge, a fuel pressure gauge, and a transmission temperature gauge.

I also needed an A-pillar to support the gauges, and they had a 3-pod pillar in stock. All of the gauges were 2 1/16" in size.