how to paint the inside door handles?

javman

This is my first try at a how too and it is not finished I will have more pics.

Here we go

what you will need:

Paint (I used Krylon Fusion black)
#2 phillips screw driver
Nut driver, socket ,or wrench the screw is not tight so I just used a 1/4"
grinder or small file
small punch
2- 1/8" x2 1/2" stainless fine thread screws and lock nuts
some 1/8" washers to take up the play in the door handle
5/16" wrench
Dawn dish soap
600 water proof sand paper

Remove the door panel and then using a nut driver, small socket, or wrench remove the screw to the door handle and slide toward the front of the truck.

Remove the cable from the clip and rotate the handle 90* then lift the cable out.

Now that the door handle is free you can grind or file off the rivet

P1010084.JPG

Now that the rivet is ground off take a punch and drive it out being careful not to lose the spring

The handle should now be free.

The fun part starts now with peeling all the chrome tape off the door handle

P1010090.JPG

I started with the loose edge of the chrome and worked it off very carefully with a good pocket knife. The front will come off easily the back is a PITA. Take care in not gouging the plastic also the chrome only needs to come off the visible part of the door handle.

P1010088.JPG

P1010089.JPG

Now that you have the chrome peeled off it is time to prep I started by filling the sink with water and some Dawn. Then I wet sanded the plastic with 600 to get the small pieces of plastic left by the tip of my knife (most where on non visible areas). Then a washed it in clean water and more Dawn to get rid of any body oils (from this point do not touch with your bare hands where you need to have paint stick). I blew it off with compressed air to dry it and hung it on a bent up wire hanger and let it dry for a few minutes.

P1010077.JPG