HOW TO: Intercooler Pump $6.00 Fix :)

-=TWITCH=-

"Bring it"
First off I want to say thanks once again to NLOC for all the great members and always helping out. I have been going over my truck with a fine tooth comb for the last couple of weeks getting it ready for spring and summer, the Gen2 Springtime Checklist really helped out so thanks for that.

So the Gen 2 Check list brought me to my intercooler pump, and guess what no worky :rolleyes: Well after pulling out the pump and using two wires with a 12v battery I was able to determine the pump did not run at all, and it was not the plug.

Before spending 85.00-100.00 on a new pump I really wanted to see what causes the pumps to fail. Having a pretty extensive background in electric RC car racing I am pretty knowledgeable about electric motors. I started to dismantle the pump and immediately realized the pump is built pretty well and it seems that it can be rebuilt. I am not very good at how-to guides but I will do my best ;o

First you need to bend out each tab on the can that houses the electric motor. I used a pair of needle nose pliers to bend out each tab. The impeller side of the motor is a little bit more tricky than the rear.
Intercooler%20Pump4.jpg

Then use a small flat head screw driver to gently pry the rear comm housing from the can. Work it off just like you would a paint can lid a little at a time all the way around the can.

Intercooler%20Pump5.jpg

Once you remove the rear brush housing it will look like this. Right away from this pic I was able to determine why are pumps stop working. The comm brushes need to be replaced. A lot of people have posted that they have cleaned their intercooler pumps and have found a massive amount of "black powder" once they remove the impeller housing. Well this black powder is actually carbon from the brushes that make contact with the comm, this is normal wear and over time the brushes need to be replaced.