Any pilots here???

Matt S

USMC
I'm in ASU ROTC and i'll be competing to get a pilot slot in the next year. I've really got a lot of work to do and I was wondering if anyone had been down the same road. Thanks ;f

I'm a Blackhawk pilot in the Army, but I took a different route. I was enlisted for 7 years and put in a Warrant Officer Flight packet. Warrant officer Flight packets can be put in by enlisted or civilians. Most people don't know that.

I was just thinking about going to the AF academy for a pilot slot. but i dont think im going to do it. i work with alot of the pilots that were in your spot tho..

You could have joined the Air Guard. Have them pay for school and when you get your degree apply for OTS. Pilot slots are easier to get in the Guard. You could have gone in as a crew chief learned your A/C and then got to fly it. With the flight time you could then have gotten a job with the airlines. All for the low price of 2 wknds a mth and 2 wks a yr.

Its funny you mention that two weekends a month and two weeks a year. I just spent 7 months in baghdad with some guard guys who don't believe that statement too much anymore

I spent 12yrs in and right after 9/11 I was activated and sent overseas. That trip ended my career in the Guard. I seperated six mths after because of just what the guard guys are saying. There is a difference when you are talking Army Nat'l Guard and Air Nat'l Guard. The Army guardsmen are being sent alot more than Air guard. My brother is a full time Air Guardsmen. They have not been anywhere in over a year. I support the Troops 100%

I miss it sometimes.