One more Lightning vs. Z06 story

V

Venom Lover

I just remembered one other Lightning race story that you all might find amusing. I was out at Willow Springs in April with my Z06 (now sold). I am a novice road racer; that was my 3rd trip to a road course. That particular day, I had one goal: to beat my Viper buddy Ron, because he was talking all kinds of smack about how my Z06 was a "sled".

Anyway, we were out with an Impala SS club, and there were many different vehicles out there, including a Lightning (which was trailered in by the way....). Anyway, at the end of the day, I was feeling pretty pumped, because my best lap time of the day was a 1:43 vs. 1:45 for my buddy Ron.

Then I hooked up with the Lightning driver and checked out his lap times. His best of the day: 1:43. Of course I knew what the Lightning was capable of in the straight line, having seen a bunch at the local drag strips. But being equaled in the twisties by a Lightning just blew my mind!!! Kudos.
biggrin.gif

------------------
[*] '97 GTS Blue/White Stripes (Borla cat-backs & headers, smooth tubes, K&Ns, 3.55 gear, 456 rwhp, 490 rwft-lbs, 11.7 sec at 120.5 mph)
[*] '01 Z06 Black/Mod Red (sold)
Viper_3.jpg

I'm telling you, go test drive one! They will amaze you!!
biggrin.gif

------------------
Shane L.

93 black- 13.14 @ 104 (mine)
99 red- 13.04 @ 107 (my inheritance) HEHE

Hmmm....the SR-71 Blackbird is known in and around Beale AFB, and in the Habu community as a "sled." Until somebody proves the Aurora exists, the sled remains the fastest jet ever produced. I guess I would have taken it as a compliment.
biggrin.gif

------------------
Stevie-Ray
NLOC #606
Double Aught Red L Gofastruck, #3460 DOB 5-31
ARE LSII
BedRug
Homedics BackExpert 2000
Custom mats
SVT Front End Cover
Clear tails
Keypad Entry
JL Stage II Ram Air
2001 Ranger 4X4 Daily Driver
9993917.jpg